Cross Country Teams Sweep League for 8th Straight Year

Posted: November 3, 2016

For the ninth straight year, our freshman, sophomore, junior varsity and varsity cross country teams earned West Catholic Athletic League (WCAL) championship titles.

Going into WCAL III at Crystal Springs on November 2, the Bells knew that the winners of each race would capture the league championship; and with good weather on their side, and stellar racing, all four teams won close races at the concluding meet.

Meika Beaudoin-Rousseau ran 14:59, the second fastest time in BCP history, and the 59th all-time on the 45-year-old course.The varsity team time was the 23rd fastest in the history of the course, which is a feat considering more than 500 teams run the course every year.

The JV, sophomore and freshman races were also "epic" in the words of head coach Patrick McCrystle - all for different reasons. The JV team fought to the very end and ran the best race of the day, handily beating 2nd place finishers, St. Francis. Sophomore Luke Hammers overtook two leading Lancers with 1000 meters remaining, and ended up winning by 12 seconds. And the freshman team, having lost their number one runner before the league season even began, pulled together to end the season on a high note.


Varsity: 1st - BCP 25; 2nd - St. Francis 32. Bellarmine's top 7 runners: 1. Meika Beaudoin-Rousseau; 2. Alex Scales; 6. Neerav Gade; 7. Luke Pinkel; 9. Joseph Deck; 11. Dylan Doblar; 19. Benjamin Micallef

Junior Varsity: 1st - BCP 19; 2nd - St. Francis 54; 3rd - Sacred Heart Cathedral 86. Bellarmine's top 7 runners: 1. Ross D’Orfani; 3. Danny Leclair; 4. Thomas Clark; 5. Chris Sedayao; 6. Justin Seidel; 7. Andrew Romero; 9. Luigi Zialcita

Sophomore: 1st - BCP 27; 2nd - St. Francis 38; 3rd - St. Ignatius 81. Bellarmine's top 7 runners: 1. Luke Hammers; 2. Ted Fuell; 7. Peter Deck; 8. Sam Diab; 9. Derek Cech; 10. Truman Paras; 11. Will Meinhardt

Freshman: 1st - BCP 48; 2nd - St. Francis 52; 3rd - Sacred Heart Cathedral 60. Bellarmine's top 7 runners: 6. Patrick McCarthy; 7. Holden Duflock; 10. Javier Ascencio; 12. Isaiah Amanual; 13. Tanay Menezes; 14. Joel Macias; 17. Devon Montgomery-Eder

Go Bells!

Related Articles