Bells Qualify for National Speech & Debate Tournament

Posted: April 4, 2016

Twenty-six Bells competed in the National Speech and Debate Association's (NSDA) National Qualifier, hosted on campus over the weekend of March 18-20.

The Bells performed well through seven rounds of competition, with three individuals and five two-man teams advancing to the National Tournament. Three individuals are on standby as alternates to the tournament. In most events, the top three places qualify for the National Tournament. In pilot event, Informative Speaking, however, only the top two advance.

National qualifying continued on April 2 at Santa Clara University with ten Bells competing in Congress. One student advanced to Nationals as a result.


Informative Speaking (pilot event)

Ronan MacRunnels

3rd place

alternate to Nationals

International Extemporaneous Speaking

Anay Limaye

4th place

alternate to Nationals

United States Extemporaneous Speaking
Jake Glass 2nd place Nationals qualifier

Stefan Fiandeiro

5th place

Humorous Interpretation

Bobby Houston

4th place

alternate to Nationals

Duo Interpretation

Xavier Liu & Cal Growney

1st place

Nationals qualifier

Original Oratory

Nived Gopakumar

2nd place

Nationals qualifier

Lincoln Douglas Debate

Mathias Insley

2nd place

Nationals qualifier

Policy Debate
Grant Nilson & Miguel Fiandeiro undefeated Nationals qualifier
Rafael Pierry & Dhruv Sudesh one loss Nationals qualifier
Nikhil Rajavasireddy & Bryant Cong two losses Nationals qualifier

Ani Prabhu & Vinay Ayyappan

auto qualification *

Nationals qualifier

Congressional Debate
Ryan Biland 1st place, Senate Nationals qualifier

* Auto qualified for the 2016 National Tournament based upon their semi-final appearance at the 2015 National Tournament.

Speech Sweepstakes

1st Archbishop Mitty 31 points
2nd Leland High School 26 points
3rd Bellarmine 24 points

Debate Sweepstakes

1st Bellarmine 25 points
2nd Leland High School 16 points
3rd Mission San Jose High School 15 points

Overall District Sweepstakes

1st Bellarmine 47 points
2nd Archbishop Mitty 39 points
3rd Leland High School 35 points

Nationals will be held in Salt Lake City June 12-17.

A special thank you to coaches Kim Jones, Dee Dee Sullivan, Hoon Ko, Ben Sigrist, Dan Baxter and Aaron Langerman for their continuing dedication to the program.

Related Articles

  • Be a Coldbuster—Donate to Our Winter Warmth Drive

    Posted November 12, 2018

    Be a coldbuster! Join our efforts to collect warm clothing, blankets, and sleeping bags for our neighbors served by Sacred Heart Community Service and HomeFirst. Our Winter Warmth Drive runs from November 12-20.

  • Newsies Cast Announced

    Posted November 10, 2018

    Bellarmine's production of Newsies has been cast by director Peter Canavese.

  • Recipients of President's Award Announce Challenge Grant

    Posted November 5, 2018

    The 40th Annual President’s Award Dinner was held the evening of October 30 in the Samuel A. Liccardo Campus Center. The donor recognition event, attended by 250 guests, featured the presentation of the President’s Award, given each year to those who have demonstrated support to Bellarmine in a variety of ways.