Bells Finish as Top 10 School at Natl Speech & Debate Tourney

Posted: June 22, 2015

Ten speech and debaters gave it their all at the National Speech and Debate Tournament June 15-19 in Dallas, each qualifying for the semifinals of their events, or higher, and collectively posting more points at the competition than teams twice their size. Their reward was recognition as a top ten school, earning designation as a School of Outstanding Distinction.

Most events at the national tournament begin with 265 qualifiers, so closing out the tournament with semifinal or higher placements by all 10 members of the team was a major accomplishment and a first for Bellarmine. The Bells also celebrated teammate Rohan Dhoopar's second consecutive finals appearance in International Extemporaneous, a feat that is very difficult. Speech and debate coach DeeDee Sullivan said "Getting back to the stage two years in a row, especially after graduating and having college in his sights, is incredibly, incredibly hard. It is a true testament to his talent and hard work." Dhoopar ultimately placed sixth in his event.

Final Results:

School of Outstanding Distinction
Bruno E. Jacob/Pi Kappa Delta National Award in Speech: 7th
Karl E. Mundt Sweepstakes Award, John C. Stennis Congressional Debate: 4th

Viraj Thakur 3rd Impromptu
Rohan Dhoopar 6th Intl Extemporaneous
Neil Tagare 10th Intl Extemporaneous
Omkar Savant 7th Lincoln Douglas Debate
Ani Prabhu / Vinay Ayyappan 9th Policy Debate
Ankur Mahesh / Ian Brown 13th Policy Debate
Vinay Ayyappan 7th Policy Debate Speaker Award
Ankur Mahesh 11th Policy Debate Speaker Award
Viraj Thakur 4th World Schools Debate Speaker Award
Keshav Goel Final Congressional Debate - House
William Pramono Semi-Final Congressional Debate - House 4

In related news, Kim Jones, longtime Bellarmine educator and speech and debate program director/coach, was inducted to the National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA) Hall of Fame, at a ceremony held during the national tournament. Each year, nominations are sought from member students and coaches, and current Hall of Fame members and coaches with at least three diamonds vote to determine which nominees will be elected members of this most distinguished body.

Go Bells!

Related Articles

  • Bellarmine Hall of Fame

    Posted July 16, 2019

    San Jose, CA Bellarmine College Preparatory will recognize four distinguished alumni at its Hall of Fame ceremony the evening of August 24, 2019.

    Those to be honored, and their respective categories, are: Kevin Frandsen, Class of 2000 (Athletics); Bill Del Biaggio, Jr., Class of 1958 (Business); Jim Harville, Class of 1963 (Humanities & Fine Arts); and Major General D. Scott McKean, Class of 1986 (Public Service).

  • Laughter on the 23rd Floor

    Posted July 1, 2019

    San Jose, CA The adage “laughter is good medicine” is a prescription for fun, and that is what Bellarmine Alumni Theatre hopes to accomplish with its staging of Laughter on the 23rd Floor, the comedy written by Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning Neil Simon that is his tribute to his early career as a 1950s television writer working alongside the legendary Carl Reiner and Mel Brooks.

  • Bellarmine Chancellor Receives Honorary Doctorate

    Posted June 20, 2019

    San Jose, CA – Reverend Gerald T. Wade, S.J., chancellor of Bellarmine College Preparatory, its former president, and an alumnus of the all-boys Jesuit high school, is the recipient of an honorary doctorate degree from Santa Clara University (SCU), given to him at SCU’s 168th Commencement held on June 15, 2019. Friend and Bellarmine colleague, Rev. Richard Cobb, S.J., introduced the honor, with the degree conferred by Rev. Michael Engh, S.J., president of SCU.